7June2014* Shopping at my neighborhood renok

I have finally decided to add text to my blog posts.  Originally, I thought that photos could say everything, but slowly I have realized that I also want to share an experience or why I chose to include certain photos over another in a particular place.

So last Saturday I finally took advantage of the rain ceasing after a straight week to shop at the outdoor market, rather than in the large, very ‘western’ supermarket across the street from my apartment.  These local neighborhood markets in the Russian-speaking world are called рынок (ринок in Ukrainian), pronounced ‘renok’.  In the first photo you can see the entrance to the grounds for vendors and below the word for market is the name of my neighborhood that I live in here in Kyiv, Levoberezhnia.

At the renok, there are not just fresh fruits and vegetables, which is common for most farmer’s markets in the United States.  You can by fresh flowers, clothing, housing supplies, tea and coffee and there is usually a special space to also purchase meats, fish and dairy products.  As in many previous posts, I am always most amazed by the meats.  I think it is a mix of extraordinary vibrant colors and forms with a hint of disgust.

In my neighborhood, the meat sector has its own building.  I photographed one of the old weights, which is painted in a clean sky blue tone.  I chatted (in my horrible Russian) to one of the meat vendors who has been selling meats here for most of her life and she said they are still the same devices from the Soviet era, and that they still work just as well!

Below the image of the weight, is a spread of an indeterminable meat product to most Americans.  For Ukrainians, it is a national food, called сало, pronounced salo in English. It is cured pig fat and I tried a small chunk of it after a wonderful woman working there kept insisting that I try it for the first time.  It was alright, but I do not think I could fit in to this generation eating it sliced on bread everyday!
SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

