A Long Weekend in the Berner Oberland: Micro-landscapes of the Sefinental

I always stop a few times for a closer look at the mosses and lichens growing on the trees and rocks when I hike. However, this time I felt like I was stopping every few meters! Those growing in the Sefinental were phenomenal! Between the grassy mountainsides where the alpine valley begins at Gimmelwald and the tundra-like glacial enclosure where it ends, the forests are vibrant with bright neon greens from the mosses and tiny plants growing on every available surface. Sprouting in and around all of this green are loads of small flowers in shapes ranging from cones to exploding ball-like. I also ran into some unusually low hanging pine cones! Below are a few of my favorite micro-landscapes I encountered.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

