Welcome to Tehran, Iran

It has now been three months since I flew from Tehran back to Frankfurt. In that time I went on a short hiking adventure with Gleb in the Georgian Caucasus, moved to Saint Petersburg, submitted fellowship applications and my dissertation proposal, and wrote a conference paper. Now, I have finally reached a breathing point to get up my travel photos from Iran. There will be a few longer narrative entries, which I wrote while traveling in Iran, but the majority of the posts will be photo essays with captions. The first ten days, and the majority of my posts, will be from when I traveled with my best friend, Eve. We were in Tehran, Isfahan, Yazd, Shiraz and multiple archaeological sites in Fars province (southern Iran). I then traveled alone for a few days in central and western Iran followed by a two-week class on Islamic Art in Tehran, Qom, Isfahan and Kashan.

This first post is on Tehran, the capital of Iran. Although many of my photos reflect the energy- if not chaos-  found on the streets, rest assured there were plenty of serene spaces to take refuge: cafes, museums, mosques and parks.

SONY DSC
the newly constructed Tabiat bridge at sunset
SONY DSC
view to the north from Tabiat bridge: the Alborz mountains and Tehran’s more elite neighborhoods
SONY DSC
view to the south from Tabiat bridge: the center of Tehran and the working class neighborhoods
SONY DSC
the streets, which always appear impossible to cross
SONY DSC
pistachios galore: hands down the best I have ever tasted
SONY DSC
searching for a spice shop to buy Eve some saffron
SONY DSC
lines and lines of spice, nut and dried berry vendors
SONY DSC
the shape of this bowl and the contrast of the cream of the nut with the grey-brown of the metal is incredible
SONY DSC
essential oil flavored water was strangely popular
SONY DSC
grains, nuts, spices and more
SONY DSC
a selfie and architecture shot side by side in the Grand Bazaar of Theran
SONY DSC
Haj Kazem’s tiny tea house in the Grand Bazaar. This place is an absolute must-visit if you are in Tehran.
SONY DSC
Tea made to order. A great post on the tea house by a fellow blogger: http://www.travestyle.com/2016/05/19/fabulous-finds-smallest-tea-house-tehran-iran/
SONY DSC
the hallway to reach the tiny 2 x 2m cafe
SONY DSC
entering the Grand Bazaar
SONY DSC
exiting the Grand Bazaar
SONY DSC
The icon of Tehran: Azadi Tower. Unfortunately the underground passage to the park and tower was still not completed when we visited. I tried crossing the  highway encircling it, but I thought I would die.  Eve made it, but I sadly stayed in the park on the other side of the highway with only this view.
