The Armenian District of Isfahan

I visited a few churches in the Armenian district of Isfahan, but more memorable might be the fact that I came here to pierce by nose. I visited the churches and ate ice cream wandering the streets on the first part of my trip; however, when I returned to Isfahan while taking a course on Islamic art for the latter part of my trip, I decided on a whim that Isfahan was going to be the place I finally pierced my nose. I went with a friend from the course to meet a friend from Isfahan. The friend from Isfahan knew a few small jewelry shops where this sudden desire might be fulfilled. After entering the first shop I felt a strong bias about wanting a woman to be the one to stab me with the tiny silver dagger, so we continued our search. We wandered through a few other locations until ending up at a small one room jewelry store in front of the Vank Cathedral. I survived, bought a pair of turquoise and silver earrings, and left with a rather physical memory of Isfahan punched through my body.

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC
a curious mix of tile work and painting
SONY DSC
dog-goat-lion?
SONY DSC
rather graphic paintings

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC
the non-alcoholic beer was a life-saver. It was sugary, but nothing compared to the intoxicatingly sweet juices and other soft drinks
